Psychiatrist of the Year Award

The Ontario Psychiatric Association Council is pleased to announce Dr. Justin Geagea as the winner of the 2017 OPA Psychiatrist of the Year Award. 

Dr. Geagea is recognized for his outstanding contributions to clinical care for patients with schizophrenia and those who have serious and persistent mental illness, innovative educational programs, and leadership in advocating for an SPMI population that is underserved and stigmatized, as well as physicians.

Dr. Geagea is a staff psychiatrist, Complex Care and Recovery Program, Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, and Assistant Professor, Division of Brain and Therapeutics, Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto. He sits on the Board of Directors of St. Jude's Community Homes.

Honourable Mention:

Dr. David Goldbloom – for his long-standing advocacy and mental health policy work, outstanding leadership and teaching
Dr. Peggy Richter – for her contributions to understanding and management of OCD and related disorders
Dr. Frank Sommers – for his long-standing advocacy and educational achievements

The OPA Psychiatrist of the Year Award recognizes psychiatrists' contributions to the profession of psychiatry and to the public in the areas of advocacy, clinical care, education, research and administration. In this first year of the Award, the OPA Council sought nominations from OPA members and the public to recognize psychiatrists for their distinguished service to their patients, and focused on highlighting psychiatrists' engagement in grassroots advocacy in their local communities. Awards winners serve as inspirational leaders to OPA members as they embody the best features of the profession of psychiatry: compassionate and empathic clinical care, distinguished public service, outstanding teaching, research and educational achievement, leadership and charitable work in local communities.

The Award ceremony will take place at the OPA AGM on Friday, April 7, at 12:30 p.m., at the King Edward Hotel (Vanity Fair Ballroom).

© 2017 Ontario Psychiatric Association
Privacy Policy